At The Sutton Academy we like to keep everyone up to date on all the latest news from students and staff.

If you have any news stories you would like to contribute, please email the story and a picture to:

Year 8 win the St Helens Cup!


Congratulations to Mr Siddle and his Year 8 Football team in winning the St Helens Secondary Schools Football Cup.  Winning 5-2 against De La Salle, at the superb facilities of Ruskin Drive. 

It was a very cautious start to the match, however De La Salle scored first.  The Sutton Academy responded immediately to level the score with a Ryan Sinnott goal.  Sutton continued to push and had the majority of possession, however De La Salle always posed a threat on the break.  Both teams had opportunities to score but hit the post and near misses to finish the first half 1-1.

During the half time talk Mr Siddle pointed out that the team played like Barcelona in attacking, but failed to defend at times.  He did a tactical change and brought on Phil Platt to mark their centre forward so to stop the main threat.

Straight from the restart Sutton made five passes at take the lead with a fantastic goal from Reece Bridge 2-1.  The restructured defence work well and stopped any threat De La Salle posed. The Academy's midfield (Jack Sutton, Ellis Morris, Tom Ratcliffe and Jacob Mather) built on this with some patient passing and interplay.  Sutton did dominate the remainder of the game, and looked likely to score at every attack.  With a couple of pass between Jacob Mather and Ryan Sinnott, Ryan scored his second 3-1.  Ellis Morris scored a headed goal to make it 4-1 and Danny Asson came off the bench to complete Suttons goals 5-1.  In the last five minute De La Salle's striker got free from our defence to score a fine individual goal, making the final score 5-2.

Prior to receiving their medals and cup Ellis Morris was named as Player of the Match.

The team was;

1.  Michael Watkin

2.  Alex Stout

3.  Cameron Lee

4.  Tom Ahern

5.  Lewis Hardman

6.  Ellis Morris

7.  Tom Ratcliffe

8.  Jack Sutton

9.  Jacob Mather

10. Reece Bridge

11. Ryan Sinnott

12. Phil Platt

13. Danny Asson

14. Seb Ellis

News archive